Top 7 Song Choices: This Decade

So while I’ve been neglecting this blog, Heejun and Deandre were sent a-packing and I can’t say I’m mad about that. This season is just looking so awesome. We have Skylar and her spastic brand of crazy, Colton and his swoopy faux-hawk filled with dark energy, Jessica and her uncanny ability to turn any lyric into a literal gesture, Joshua and his permanent gospel choir, Hollie and her magical fairy-like aura, Elise and her hatred of everything and everyone ever, and Phillip and his total failure at life.

Anyway, this week the theme is actually super current! It’s songs from this decade. Yeah, you read that right. This decade! Not four decades ago! It’s a miracle. Now I just have to hope that no artist has released any version of “Against All Odds” in the past couple years. So here are my suggestions for the crew:

Skylar Laine should sing “Naturally” by Selena Gomez or “If I Die Young” by The Band Perry. Alright, so the “Naturally” suggestion is the one I’d really like. It fulfills my need for teen pop and some weird part of my brain can imagine Skylar’s country twang. Plus it’s upbeat and watching Skylar on upbeat songs is the best. The “If I Die Young” suggestion is only there because it’s literally the only country song I can think of at the moment.

Elise Testone should sing “Un-thinkable (I’m Ready)” by Alicia Keys or “Lights” by Ellie Goulding. Elise needs to sing something that sounds good with her unique tone and leaves plenty of room for interesting phrasing, and I think both suggestions would work. The Alicia Keys song is one of my favorite songs ever and I’m not sure if Elise would be great on it, but if anyone this season could do it, it’s Elise. And because I would love for more people to hear it, I’m suggesting it. “Lights” would let Elise go more upbeat, but still fit her general cool vibe.

Jessica Sanchez should sing “If We Ever Meet Again” by Timbaland ft. Katy Perry or “Don’t Let Me Fall” by B.o.B. Jessica, at one point, said she could rap. I would like proof of this. This is the sole reason for suggesting the B.o.B song. In a more realistic suggestion, Jessica needs to pick a song where people would not criticize her for doing it straight up. Picking a song by a male artist (Timbaland) is the easiest way to do this. Especially because she could literally do “If We Ever Meet Again” straight up and no one would complain because people are stupid like that. (Plus, let’s face it, it would be hard for her not to sound miles better than Timbaland and Katy Perry.)

Hollie Cavanagh should sing “Impossible” by Shontelle or “Titanium” by David Guetta ft. Sia. Hollie badly needs to sing something midtempo. If she sings a big Beyonce/Christina diva ballad, she’ll get raked across the coals. If she sings anything by a former Idol, she’ll pale in comparison. And if she sings anything super upbeat, I’m sure she’ll look awkward. So she needs to sing a super melodic midtempo where she can just belt and move as little as possible without seeming stiff. “Titanium” is also a perfet fit for her voice.

Joshua Ledet should sing “Wake Up Everybody” by John Legend or “10 Seconds” by Jazmine Sullivan. Everyone knows Joshua can sing, so all he needs to do is putting a convincing twist on any recent soul song. “Wake Up Everybody” was tailor-made to gospel up with its built-in message and “10 Seconds” is 2010’s answer to Mary J. Blige’s “I’m Going Down.” Josh would kill both, but I imagine he could tackle any soul song to tons of success.

Colton Dixon should sing “Good Life” by OneRepublic or “Paradise” by Coldplay. Colton is inevitably going to pick a song by some rock band that I’ve either never heard of or hate passionately, so at the very least I’d like him to pick one of the songs I somewhat enjoy listening to.

Phillip Phillips should not sing. He should go on vacation this week. I hear Jakarta is lovely this time of year.

1 Response to “Top 7 Song Choices: This Decade”


  1. 1 Kirk April 20, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Dude you’re bloody lazy. Finish your damn list. How come you have time to put together a stupid song about Erika being voted off, but not enough time to move on from number 35?


Leave a Reply

