Top 5 Song Choices: Now And Then

I love this theme! I don’t even know why I love this theme so much, but I do. It’s current! And old-school! Really, I just enjoy that there are tons of good songs we could potentially hear. For those not in the know, “now and then” refers to one current song (now) and one song from the 60’s (then). I don’t know what current is, but for the sake of this blog I’m going to limit it to songs released in the last year (roughly). In actuality, I assume “current” is much closer to songs released in the last five-ten years, but we just had songs from the 2000’s so I’m going to pretend this is different. This also means that the contestants will each be singing two songs again (yay!) but the show will most definitely be longer than an hour (boo!).

First things first: they’re given two songs, if anyone sings two ballads I will hate them on principle. You’ve got two songs! At least make one fun. The goal is to show two different sides, but to be sure that both are awesome. (Looks like you’re out of luck Scotty! At least that one side isn’t unbearable.) On to the suggestions, beginning with the contestant who (hopefully) has no chance to make it through the week…

Jacob Lusk should sing “Mama Said” by The Shirelles (then) and “Impossible” by Shontelle (now). The theme to these suggestions is clearly “females whose names end in ‘elle'”. I mean, I think that in itself is a pretty solid reason to pick either song. With “Mama Said”, I always want to suggest it for contestants during Motown week because it’s pretty awesome until I remember that it’s not a Motown song and weep for humanity. But it is a 1960’s song! And it’s fun and upbeat which provides a good foil to Shontelle’s pop ballad. And “Impossible” even has the line, “shout it to the rooftops” – I mean, could a song be more appropriate for Jacob? No. It couldn’t. Jacob could let loose (relatively speaking) on both and they’d still hold up pretty well.

Scotty McCreery should sing “Like A Rolling Stone” by Bob Dylan (then) and “All Over Me” by Josh Turner (now). Bob Dylan is awesome. Revenge songs are awesome. So how could you go wrong when you combine the two? And let’s face it, Scotty is going to find a way to sing another Josh Turner song. At least this one isn’t babylockthemdoors. It kinda moves. A little. I don’t know. I don’t know country. (The only songs I can think of off the top of my head are “Need You Now” and “Temporary Home” and… no.)

James Durbin should sing “All Alone Am I” by Brenda Lee (then) and “Hands All Over” by Maroon 5 (now). The former would continue his season-long quest to emulate Adam Lambert’s performance of “Mad World.” So you know, I gotta give him that. Then there’s no way he could sound/perform worse on a Maroon 5 song than Casey so he’ll only be compared favorably! (Alternatively, we could compare him to Jeanine Vailes or Mike Lynche. Heck, it’s not like he’d even have problems competing with Blake Lewis’ vocals.)

Lauren Alaina should sing “Walk On By” by Dionne Warwick (then) and “Magic” by B.o.B. (now). Okay, so these are both terrible choices. I mean, Kelly Clarkson slayed the first one and the second one needs no explanation. But I think Lauren would sound really awesome on “Walk On By” and I have this crazy version of “Magic” formulated in my head that I want Lauren to sing. Just like, put a twangy guitar on it and give the hook some country attitude and the verses so have this super awesome melody in my head. It works somehow. I don’t know. So maybe I’ve just lost it a little. Or I subconsciously hate Lauren Alaina. She needs to do something crazy to get people excited anyway.

Haley Reinhart should sing “Hey Jude” by The Beatles (then) and “King Of Anything” by Sara Bareilles (now). It’s impossible to feel anything but utter joy when hearing “Hey Jude.” And “King Of Anything” is a great screw you song. I think Haley could really sell a ‘screw you’ song right now. Really, I just suggest my favorite artists for Haley because I want them to get more exposure. (I would have suggested the superior “Uncharted” but it doesn’t quite have the fire of “King.”) But I really do want to see Haley tear up a “screw you” song. Really. Really really.

But who cares about Idol, it’s all about The Voice, am I right? (The answer is no, I’m wrong.)

0 Responses to “Top 5 Song Choices: Now And Then”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

